Scale of demand and the role of competences
Suma S. Athreye

8 The evolution of the UK software market: scale of demand and the role of competences Suma S. Athreye Introduction This chapter studies the evolution of the software industry in the UK. Previous work on the evolution of the software industry in the UK by Grindley (1996) emphasised the constraints imposed on the newly emerging software sector due to the steady erosion of a domestic hardware capability. While hardware manufacturers were an important source of demand and often supplied the entrepreneurship required for software firms in the early stages, we show

in Market relations and the competitive process
Christopher T. Marsden

The term ‘Open Internet’ is one that the digital minister, Ed Vaizey and I agreed some years ago was a better term for the UK than the American term – net neutrality. Richard Hooper 1 Regulation of Internet access is a difficult

in Network neutrality
Abstract only

1 1 1 1 Editorial Humanitarianism and the End of Liberal Order Editor’s Introduction Fiori Juliano j.fiori@savethechildren.org.uk 01 01 2019 1 1 1 1 1 1 3 3 1 10.7227/JHA.001 Research Article When the Music Stops Humanitarianism in a Post-Liberal World Order Hopgood Stephen sh18@soas.ac.uk 01 01 2019 1 1 1 1 4 4 14 14 2 10.7227/JHA.002 Post-Humanitarianism Governing Precarity through Adaptive Design Duffield Mark m.duffield@bristol.ac.uk 01

Abstract only

1 1 3 3 Editorial Innovation in Humanitarian Action Editors’ Introduction Müller Tanja R. tanja.mueller@manchester.ac.uk Sou Gemma gemma.sou@manchester.ac.uk 01 09 2019 13 02 2020 1 1 3 3 1 1 3 3 19 10.7227/JHA.019 Research Article More than Laboratories Four Decisive Challenges Confronting Humanitarian

Abstract only

1 1 2 2 Editorial Negotiating Humanitarian Security – between Norms and Practices Editor’s Introduction Neuman Michaël Michael.Neuman@paris.msf.org Espada Fernando F.Espada@savethechildren.org.uk Read Róisín roisin.read@manchester.ac.uk 01 05 2019

Abstract only

2 2 1 1 Editorial Editor’s Introduction Espada Fernando F.Espada@savethechildren.org.uk 01 01 2020 21 9 2020 2 2 1 1 1 1 2 2 28 10.7227/JHA.028 Research Article Civil–Military Coordination A Framework for Measuring Effectiveness in Humanitarian Response Bollettino Vincenzo vbollett@hsph.harvard.edu Anders Birthe bianders@hsph.harvard.edu 01 01 2020 21 9 2020 2 2 1 1 3 3 10 10 29 10.7227/JHA.029 Confronting Humanitarian Insecurity The Law and Politics of Responding to Attacks against Aid Workers Brooks Julia julia

Abstract only

5 5 1 1 3 3 17 17 2 10.7227/HRV.5.1.2 The clandestine cemetery Burying the victims of Europe’s border in a Tunisian coastal town Zagaria Valentina v.zagaria@lse.ac.uk April 2019 5 5 1 1 18 18 37 37 3 10.7227/HRV.5.1.3 Bodies in the tip Deaths and politicised deaths in Buenos Aires’s refuse Perelman Mariano D. mdperelman

Abstract only

2 2 1 1 Introduction Lorem Ipsum Paris Joyce Justin A justin-joyce@northwestern.edu Field Douglas douglas.field@manchester.ac.uk McBride Dwight A dwight-mcbride@northwestern.edu 09 2016 2 2 1 1 1 1 5 5 10.7227/JBR.2.1 Essays I've Got a Testimony James Baldwin and the Broken Silences of Black Queer Men Melton McKinley E mmelton

Abstract only

human remains from the siege of Turin, 1706 Mercinelli Martina martina.mercinelli@gmail.com Smith Martin J. mjsmith@bournemouth.ac.uk 10 2019 12 11 2019 5 5 2 2 34 34 55 55 4 10.7227/HRV.5.2.4 ‘I am here and I am here to stay’: the death and burial of soldiers with cholera during the

Open Access (free)
Humanitarianism in a Post-Liberal World Order
Stephen Hopgood

challenged. The ground gained by so called ‘illiberal democracy’ is prodigious, not merely in terms of the number of countries where illiberal politics is alive and thriving, many of which are in the West (the US, much of the EU, the UK) but in terms of the creeping legitimacy that attends right-wing solutions to ongoing social and political problems. This is nowhere truer than in the major new power in the international system, China, where a version of state-controlled capitalism co-exists alongside a principled rejection of liberalism. The

Journal of Humanitarian Affairs